African Americans in the Arts in the Spokane / Coeur d’Alene Area

Visual and Performing Arts, Literary Arts, Media Arts

I would like to thank all of those that are helping us to develop a database of African Americans involved in the Spokane and Inland Empire in the visual, performing, literary and media arts. 

Steve Pitters and I have been discussing how to bring about a change in mind-set infusing overall community opportunity for African Americans in the Arts in Spokane. The individuals listed here are being asked to consider the following ways they can enhance the cultural scene for each of us by doing the following:

  • Develop a community who will commit to attend each others functions and events. This will help to ensure our visibility at these events.
  • Use this list to notify us of our activities.
  • Use this list to make others in the community aware of our activities.
  • People in other cultures and communities in the United States and elsewhere insure the development and growth of talented individuals and businesses.
  • We need to change the “me for myself” attitude. Spokane is small enough for us to be able to sustain and support the talents of those who wish to share it with others.

Send us your thoughts and calendars of events and let’s collaborate with each other in support of like-minded interests and events.

Below are the names and contact information we have located so far. Please continue to send us names and contact information on other artists you might know. We would like to know the medium they operate in, email address, street address, phone number, web address,  and whether they are on Facebook

Adell Whitehead <mspine@comcast.net>
Althea Dumas, singer, althea.dumas@yahoo.com
 A. J. afariamckinney@hotmail.com  poet

Bethany Montgomery power2thepoetry@gmail.com poet

Bob Bartlett <rbartlett@ewu.edu>
Carl Richardson Carl_richardson1966@yahoo.com
Carlos Fox, keyboard
Carlos Verde – Facebook
Charles Williams, drummer
Christopher Bowers, drummer
D’Angelo Harvey, singer  dangelo@hotelrubyspokane.com
Daron <zrockman@hotmail.com>
Darrien Mack <DarrienM@community-minded.org>
Daryl Spencer, guitarist
David Casteal <davidca@spokaneschools.org>
David Parker <dlppv@aol.com>
Delbert Richardson <ahtm@thespokentruths.com>
Denise E. Roberson <littlesistahs@live.com>
Donzel Milan <donzel_milan@yahoo.com>
Dycelia Weiss <dycelia@weissfinancialconsulting.com>
Echo Elysium  -guitar/vocals
Elisha J Mitchell <elisha@gospelvocalist.com>
Esther Greene, pianist
Fran Hammond <fran.hammond10@gmail.com>
Frankie Valinda Ghee <fvghee@gmail.com>
Gaye Hallman – Facebook
Genesis Vernon  -rap artist
Ginger Ewing <ginger_ewing@yahoo.com>
Inga Laurent <ilaurent@lawschool.gonzaga.edu>
Inga Laurent <laurenin@hotmail.com>
Jackie McCowen-Rose <jqmcrose@gmail.com>
Jacob jacobsportraits@aol.com
James Bowens, bass guitar
Jamie Stacy, singer/musician
Jeff Mooring <here2there26@gmail.com>
Jermaine jermaine_86@msn.com
Joseph King <toneKane31@hotmail.com>
Kenya Diallo  -piano/vocals
Keven DeWayne Franklin <kevendfranklin@gmail.com>
Lamar Webster lamarwbstr86@gmail.com  singer/musician
LaQuan (LQ) Local Legendz 1917 E Sprague  -music
Lindell Reason – Facebook
Mariah Nicole Hernandez <mhernandez18@outlook.com>
Maya Roseman <mayaaileen@aol.com>
Nicholas Sironka <sironkamaasai@yahoo.com>
Priscilla Barnett -mixed media

Power 2 The Poetry at Facebook

Quindrey Davis  -drummer
Rachel Dolezal <radolezal77@gmail.com>
Raggs Gustaffe – Facebook
Robert Lloyd <rdlloyd@comcast.net>
Robert Williamson <robert5592@aol.com>
Ron Greene  -guitar/vocals
Ron Smalls <concernedcitizen2017@yahoo.com>
Salik Seville  <silverbraclet@hotmail.com> Facebook, painter
Seneca   Skillscreate Smith           Facebook
Shalon Parker <shalon_p@yahoo.com>
Shantell Jackson <shantell.r.j@gmail.com>
Stephen Pitters <stephenpitters@comcast.net>
Yolanda Everette <yo143mrk13@gmail.com>

LEAVE A COMMENT